CHOOSING TO FOLLOW JESUS TAKES ALL OF YOU

“Flee the evil desires of youth, and pursue righteousness, faith, love and peace, along with those who call on the LORD out of a pure heart. Don’t have anything to do with foolish and stupid arguments, because you know they produce quarrels. And the LORD’S  servant must not quarrel; instead, he must be kind to everyone, able to teach, not resentful. Those who oppose him he must gently instruct, in the hope that GOD will grant them repentance leading them to a knowledge of the truth, and that they will come to their senses and escape from the trap of the devil, who has taken them captive to do his will.” 2nd Timothy 2:22-26 NIV

As I was sitting and studying the word I saw the above statement as the author of a reference book I was using along with the bible explained the last supper. He stated that LORD JESUS asked his disciples to perform the ritual of the communion supper as a sign of remembrance of HIM. He went on to say that the disciples were ask to eat and drink the symbol of CHRIST’S  broken body and HIS shed blood as a remembrance that they choose to follow JESUS. That by following JESUS it would take every part of us both flesh and blood. I stopped right there in my reading because when I sat down to study I was grieving in my spirit. I was trying not to be discourage and depressed. I was trying not to be judgemental or a know it all. I was fighting off hurt feelings and I just didn’t want to bring this type of foolishness to the foot of the throne. So I decided to read the word and to find out all about my ALMIGHTY FATHER. LORD JESUS BEING WHO HE IS MET ME AT THE DOOR OF MY HEART. HE KNEW just what I was going through having been there HIMSELF, and because HE KNEW I needed comfort right then HE JUST LET ME BAST IN HIS GLORY. I soon begin to feel better and was no longer feeling sorry for myself or allowing what some fellow church members and so called Christian friends attempted to put me through. HE LED me to the above statement and then walked me to the teachings of Paul. Dear Paul was writing to his friend and son in the ministry Timothy. He was trying to instruct him as well as comfort him for the work of ministry. Pastor Timothy would be facing many things and many people who were not as they appeared. He was giving Timothy warning about things to come when he (Paul) would no longer be there to instruct him. He wanted Timothy to understand that once he chose to serve and follow JESUS THE CHRIST that it would not be easy. That he had to take control of himself and learn how to allow the word of GOD to renew his mind and to change him. Looking at verse 22 he tells him that he most put down the evil desires of youth. As an adult many times things happen to us and before we know it we are acting just like children. My recent dismay had me reverting to childish behavior in the fact that I just wanted to cry because some church person said something that was not nice. After what I thought was a good job in a program I presented to the church group all I heard was gossip about the affair. While most stated that it was wonderful I was still hurt by what was being said. But as Paul states to Timothy we should not listen to the negative but pursue righteousness, faith and I’m adding true faith, love and peace. Most of all associate ourselves with those of us who call on OUR LORD OUT OF PURE HEARTS!!! Paul goes on to say in verse 23 Don’t have anything to do with foolish and stupid arguments, because you know they produce quarrels. I really needed this word because still acting in my adult childish way I wanted to confront those that I was told did the talking. I wanted to give them a bit of my mind. I didn’t care if it started an argument or not. However as I am instructed by Paul as he instructs Timothy it would not be in my best interest or help in building the KINGDOM OF GOD for me to act on “she say” mentality. I would fall into the trap that satan is trying to make me trip on and then needless quarrels will transpire and GOD WOULD NOT GET THE GLORY. The good work that I did with the event would be in vain. Then satan would be sitting somewhere laughing at the so called saints of GOD. The next verse sums it up in a nutshell vs. 24″ And the LORD’S servant must not quarrel; instead, he must be kind to everyone, able to teach, not resentful.” This verse shocked me back to my senses and allowed me to see who I am as a ministry for CHRIST. If I had allowed myself to confront these people…if I had listen to the one passing the gossip…if I had allowed this mess to fester like an infected sore then I would not be able to represent the one I profess to serve. Thank GOD for my hesitation!!! THANK YOU LORD FOR ALLOWING ME TO FEEL HURT AND WITHDRAW THEN TO ACT ON MY NORMAL NATURE AND CONFRONT!!! If I had done any of the things that people were attempting to provoke me to do then I would not be able to teach GOD’S WORD IN THAT CHURCH AGAIN. Without knowing really what I was doing I just continued to love those who was suppose to have started the tale and those who were bringing me the tale. I never showed any resentment towards anyone and now I don’t have any ill feelings about the entire incident. As long as I know that I did the work assignment that LORD JESUS HAD ME TO DO IN A WAY THAT WOULD BRING FATHER GOD GLORY THEN NOTHING AND NOBODY CAN TAKE THAT AWAY FROM ME…PRAISE THE MIGHTY NAME OF OUR GOD!!!….Now as these tales are brought to me I will do as Paul tells Timothy. I will gently instruct them in the hope that our FATHER GOD WILL GRANT THEM REPENTANCE SO THEY WILL HAVE THE KNOWLEDGE OF TRUTH. I will pray that as GOD WORKS WITH THEM THEY WILL COME TO THEIR SENSES AND ESCAPE FROM THE TRAP OF THE DEVIL WHO HAS TAKEN THEM CAPTIVE TO DO HIS WILL!!!  I thank you LORD JESUS for loving us so.  I thank faithful servants of CHRIST as with Paul for writing down the teachings needed for those of us who are given the assignment to help with Kingdom building. Most of all I know that to follow LORD JESUS it will take all that I have inside of me…body and blood. Along with sweat and tears!!! I would like to be that kind of servant that Paul speaks of in Verse 15-16 “DO YOUR BEST TO PRESENT YOURSELF TO GOD AS ONE APPROVED, A WORKMAN WHO DOES NOT NEED TO BE ASHAMED AND WHO CORRECTLY HANDLES THE WORD OF TRUTH. AVOID GODLESS CHATTER, BECAUSE THOSE WHO INDULGE IN IT WILL BECOME MORE AND MORE UNGODLY.” So to those who had something negative to say about the work that I did, do, and will do for the LORD…I thank you and I pray for you. May GOD WORK WITH YOU TO BE A BETTER SERVANT. ALL I KNOW IS THAT BECAUSE OF YOUR NEGATIVE WAYS IT HAS TAUGHT ME TO BE A BETTER SERVANT!!!

As always we ask that you leave a comment. But if you don’t just remember when you feel down no matter what the reason is you can always find comfort in the lap of the LORD!!!

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

